Join a Committee & Get Involved

BOMA Greater Minneapolis's strength lies in its committees' outstanding work, each staffed by member volunteers. The dozens of commercial real estate professionals are drawn from every part of the industry. These people provide the breadth of leadership and a solid core of interested volunteers who make BOMA Greater Minneapolis one of BOMA International’s most active and dynamic associations. One out of every five members serves on a committee.

Awards & Recognition

This committee coordinates, promotes, and supports BOMA's recognition and awards of excellence to the people and buildings representing our association's " best, " including the TOBY (The Outstanding Building of the Year) Awards and the Best of BOMA Awards. This committee is made up of property managers, building engineers, and service provider members. 

The committee meets on the second Tuesday of the month at 10:00 AM.
Committee Chair: Jenny Rich, Ryan Companies
Committee Co-Chair: John Skogstad, Shorenstein Realty Services
Board Champion: Steve Poechmann, Shorenstein Realty Services

BOMA Staff Liaison: Kelsey Dellwo


This committee works to develop the content for the BOMA electronic quarterly newsletter, weekly electronic newsletter, and website to communicate relevant and timely topics to BOMA members. Note: Members of this committee do not necessarily have to write the articles themselves but will be expected to secure articles from other authors.

The committee meets on the second Wednesday of the month at 11:00 AM.
Committee Chair: Sam Shimak, Link Logistics Real Estate
Committee Co-Chair: Alison Donohue, Endeavor Development
Board Champion: Laurie Paquette, Cushman & Wakefield

BOMA Staff Liaison: Laura Anderson


This committee plans high-quality and creditworthy monthly membership meetings, seminars, and BOMA Ed sessions for the membership. They source topics of interest and relevance to members and select experienced presenters. The committee meets monthly throughout the year and comprises regular members from our Property Management member companies. 

The committee meets on the second Thursday of the month at 9:00 AM.
Committee Chair: Nathan Reed, Shorenstein Realty Services
Committee Co-Chair: Jennie Kautz, Piedmont Office Realty Trust
Board Champion: Ben Yarbrough, Founders Properties

BOMA Staff Liaisons: Kyra Fox

Emerging Leaders Council

This Council provides quarterly educational, networking, or volunteer opportunities for those new to the commercial real estate industry. Participation in this council is for regular members who have completed the BYP program. 

The committee meets on the second Wednesday of the month at 2:00 PM.
Committee Chair: Alyssa Klimek, Schafer Richardson

Committee Co-Chair: Mitch Hartman, Bridge Investment Group
Board Champion: Darrell Berry, JLL
BOMA Staff Liaison: Laura Anderson

Energy & Environment

This committee provides members with up-to-date information on energy services, products, and regulatory issues. This committee advocates for reasonable solutions and educates members on voluntary green and sustainable practices to keep BOMA at the forefront of sustainability.

The committee meets on the third Monday of the month at 3:00 PM.
Committee Chair: Steve Trulen, Target Corporation
Committee Co-Chair: Philip Skrowronski, Shorenstein 
Board Champion: Adam Warden, Hines

BOMA Staff Liaison: Sarah Anderson

Engineers Association

This committee develops the monthly engineers meeting program content and selects relevant speakers of interest to our engineering and building operations members.

The committee attends engineers meetings on the first Wednesday of the month at 11:30 AM and meets approximately twice a year.
President: Jacob Houle, ABM

Vice-President: Matt Alexander, JLL
Secretary/Treasurer: Mike Brede, JLL

Program Chair President: OPEN
BOMA Staff Liaison: Laura Anderson


This committee works to engage the organization in a way beneficial to all members. Plans events that provide extra opportunities for networking and more meaningful opportunities for Associate and Professional members to engage directly with Property Management members. This committee is open to all Regular and Service Provider members and meets monthly throughout the year to plan quarterly events such as the Resource Fair, Golf Tournament, Summer Social, Holiday Party, and additional smaller networking and volunteer activities. 

The committee meets on the fourth Thursday of the month at 11:30 AM.
Committee Chair: Beth Molitor, Hines
Committee Co-Chair: Lauren Dahlke, Zeller
Board Champion: Ryan Morris, Fraser Morris Electric

BOMA Staff Liaison: Kyra Fox

Government Affairs Council

This council oversees the government advocacy activities of the Association in a variety of local and regional arenas and coordinates our involvement with BOMA Minnesota, BOMA International, and other outside coalitions. Holding a position on this Council is by invitation only.

The committee meets on the first Tuesday of the month at 8:00 AM.
Committee Chair: Pat Seng, Cushman & Wakefield
Board Champion: Deb Kolar, Accesso Services
BOMA Staff Liaison: Sarah Anderson

Medical Buildings Special Interest Group

This Special Interest Group provides educational meetings and tours specifically relevant to the problems, issues, and trends unique to medical office buildings. The committee meets 4-6 times yearly to plan a spring and a fall event. It comprises regular and Service Provider members responsible for medical building development, management, and services. 

The committee meets approximately four times per year.
Committee Chair: Rhonda Flagstad, Siemens
Committee Co-Chair: Nathalie Peffer, Welltower, Inc. 
Board Champion: Tami Shroyer, Frauenshuh

BOMA Staff Liaison: Kyra Fox


This committee strengthens our association by drawing in more individual members, promoting a broader base of support by members’ buildings, and seeking strategies to retain members, especially during ownership and management changes.

The committee meets on the first Thursday of the month at 8:30 AM.
Committee Chair: Monique Slaughter, Cushman & Wakefield
Committee Co-Chair: Ryan Moore, Ryan Companies
Board Champion: Monique Slaughter, Cushman & Wakefield

BOMA Staff Liaisons: Kelsey Dellwo & Sarah Anderson

Web Sponsor